Hexagon Bath Mat

June 11, 2011

Leave it to the Japanese to create patterns that are non repetitive, understood by the universal crochet and knitting community, and extremely stylish. Japanese patterns, which use symbols instead of the written word to explain a pattern, are easy to understand, once you’ve gotten the symbols memorized. I particularly like them because you don’t end up reading: ‘row 3: ch1, then sc in each sc, sl st in last st.     row 4: ch1, then sc in each sc, sl st in last st.     row 5: ch1, then sc in each sc, sl st in last st’…… etc. for an entire 22 rows. Plus Japanese patterns actually show you the shape which the final product will be, whereas most European/North American patterns will show you fancy photograph of only one side of the project.

I am currently in the process of creating a new bath mat for my freshly painted bathroom and the pattern is very simple for someone just learning how to read Japanese pattern symbols.

 
picture from pattern found on Ravelry

You’ll have to forgive me for not posting any of my own pictures, but I have a new computer and it doesn’t have a memory card reader, so this will have to make do until I can get an adapter.

The main colour I am using is Bernat’s Off White Cotton and the centre colours I have chosen are Lichen green, Cloud blue and Mushroom from Red Heart’s Eco Ways Yarn. As much as I try to avoid buying from these big companies, I felt a little better with my choice knowing that the yarn was created from 100% recycled materials. Hopefully my choice of yarn will turn out.

Oh, and for those of you who don’t know what a Japanese pattern looks like, here is an example from this pattern:

Leave a Reply

